The Amazing(ly bad) Spiderman

5 Jul

Image

What’s “amazing” is the degree at which this movie, if I have to be completely blunt, kind of sucks. While this movie gets points in the execution of certain scenes, they are too far and few between to help the rest of the movie from falling into completely tedious experience. Of all the phoned in performances I’ve seen in my 19 year life as a movie lover this earns some awards in that respect. Not only does the new cast of actors fail miserably at capturing the enticing portrayals as the Sam Raimi movies, but it also tries to keep both the comicbook fans and newcomers alike happy at the same time which if it hasn’t been found out yet is impossible. Spiderman should be seen in the same light as Batman and that even if noone’s a fan they should still know every basic thing about him.  The plot tries to develop too many characters by shoehorning in too many cute jokes that instill a bad attempt at exposition and ultimately left me yawning throughout the majority of the film. This time around they try to “follow the comics” and have Spidey’s web be an artificial mixture made by his father and his suit looking more realistic and practical, and introducing the characters of Gwen Stacey and Kurt Conners in leading roles. The motivation of the films villain, “TheLizard,” is pulled out of nowhere and doesn’t fit the character in any way shape or form and set pieces are made to hammer the point home to the audience that, “yes he IS Spiderman,” and while the older movies did this to good and decent effect they’re just annoying and tedious here. Of course I had the “pleasure” of seeing this movie in 3D and like every other movie I’ve seen in this “marvel” of technology it does nothing more then put a barrier between me and the screen, and while it has a place somewhere this isn’t it. The only good thing that comes from this movie is the direction of the Gwen Stacey character as more than just a dumb damsel in distress, not to mention one of the funniest Stan Lee cameos to date. I can’t expect too much from this movie as the stars that had aligned for the Sam Raimi films have been scattered to the far reaches of the universe, and the only thing to say about this reboot is that it was completely unnecessary and gets a thumbs down. This has, is, and always will be my opinion. Thanks and see ya later!

DBSLAYER7 

2 Responses to “The Amazing(ly bad) Spiderman”

  1. r361n4 July 5, 2012 at 7:09 PM #

    Good review, I was definitely a bit more optomistic in my score but I respect your opinion. My biggest problem with this movie was that it was a huge missed opportunity. If it hadn’t been for the rehashed nature of the entire plot, I might’ve liked this better than the original Sam Raimi films (I’m not a big Tobey Maguire fan though so maybe that’s why). Oh well, they’re planning on making this a trilogy so hopefully they can tread new ground in the next two follow ups.

    Anyways feel free to check out my review and share your opinions, I always love feedback from fellow bloggers 🙂

    http://rorschachreviews.com/2012/07/05/the-amazing-spider-man-review/

    • dbslayer7 July 6, 2012 at 11:01 AM #

      Hey Thanks man, its good to have some feedback. My problem with this movie seems to be my rose colored glasses developed from the Sam Raimi movies, but that’s how opinions work. Youre review was good too, and I hope we can both keep up the work. ANd as I always say, See ya later!

Leave a Reply

